PSL no-ball drama leaves stars stumped

Discussion in 'Cricket Talk' started by chandtara, Mar 13, 2018.

Users Who Have Read This Thread (Total: 0)

  1. chandtara
    Online

    chandtara Mr Cricistan

    Jun 18, 2011
    35,319
    A last-ball umpiring decision that saw a Pakistan Super League game end in confusion and left the likes of Kumar Sangakkara and Brendon McCullum scratching their heads has been vindicated thanks to a rarely-used clause in the International Cricket Council's playing conditions.

    Karachi Kings players begun celebrating on Monday evening when Lahore Qalandars batter Sohail Akhtar, needing three runs to win off the final ball of the match, was caught at long-on.

    But there was a dramatic turn of events when the third umpire, on review, found that Usman Khan had bowled a no ball.

    Umpires credited Lahore with the extra run from the no ball, but there was confusion as the batsmen had crossed, but no run was awarded.

    There was further confusion as Gulraiz Sadaf, who had been at the non-striker's end for the preceding ball, faced up for the free hit.

    Sadaf was run-out coming back for a suicidal second run off the final legitimate delivery, leaving the scores tied and Qalandars captain Brendon McCullum puzzled as Pakistan leg-spinner Yasir Shah appeared to explain what had just occurred to him.

    OUT! 19.6 Usman Khan to Sohail Akhtar, Gulraiz Sadaf (Run Out) Watch ball by ball highlights at https://t.co/s71JGtYlyg#KKvLQ #HBLPSL #PSL2018 @_cricingif pic.twitter.com/aGGLi9legB— PakistanSuperLeague (@thePSLt20) March 11, 2018
    "I still don't understand the rule," McCullum said post-match.

    Lahore did prevail after a miserly Super Over from Sunil Narine, but McCullum wasn't alone in his bewilderment.

    Sangakkara, who is playing for Multan Sultans in this year's PSL, tweeted that a "solution" to the unusual occurrence was required and expressed his confusion over how the batsmen had crossed but not been credited with a run.

    This is why a solution for calling of no balls or required. If the umpire had called the no ball the batsmen would have run. If it had been a dead ball wasn’t the wrong batsman on strike? Please correct me if I’m wrong— Kumar Sangakkara (@KumarSanga2) March 11, 2018
    Earlier tweet was about the @lahoreqalandars v @KarachiKingsARY game. If it was a dead ball how were the batsmen allowed to cross and Gulraiz faced the last ball? Confused anyone?— Kumar Sangakkara (@KumarSanga2) March 11, 2018
    However, the ICC's T20 International playing conditions, which apply to domestic competitions unless other rules are specifically made, reveal that on-field officials Tim Robinson and Aleem Dar had made the correct call.

    The ICC’s regulations state that if a no ball is called on a third umpire review, "the batting side shall benefit from the reversal of the dismissal and the one run for the no ball, but shall not benefit from any runs that may subsequently have accrued from the delivery had the on-field umpire originally called a no ball."

    Re last night’s controversy. Read 2.5.4 under No Balls/Umpire Reviews. It has been part of the playing conditions for many years. Crossing can happen without runs being given. Umpires did not make a mistake yesterday as far as following the playing conditions is concerned. pic.twitter.com/SMT93U00RX— Mazher Arshad (@MazherArshad) March 12, 2018
    They continue: "Where the batsmen crossed while the ball was in the air before being caught, the batsmen shall remain at the same ends as if the striker had been dismissed, but no runs shall be credited to the striker even if one (or more) runs were completed prior to the catch being taken."

    Lahore team manager and chief operating officer Sameen Rana had indicated the Qalandars would check with the league's technical committee that the correct call had been made.

    Lahore Qalandars win the super over of this sensational #HBLPSL thriller#DilSeJaanLagaDe #LQvKK pic.twitter.com/xk6ASjqvKw— PakistanSuperLeague (@thePSLt20) March 11, 2018
    "To be honest, we didn't know about the law," said Sameen. "We thought when the last ball was bowled the batsmen crossed so we were under the impression that we got one run from the no ball and one from running so we needed one run from the last ball.

    "But the explanation given to us by the umpires was when the on-field no ball is not given, and if it is done through a review, then when the batsmen cross it is not a run.

    "If that is the case then the question was why did the umpires let Sohail Akhtar go to the other end. This was the confusion which we will check with the technical committee and I think they have the knowledge to make the right decision."

    The super hero of super over!#HBLPSL #DilSeJaanLagaDe #LQvKK@SunilPNarine74@lahoreqalandars pic.twitter.com/JkYqzqWZaA— PakistanSuperLeague (@thePSLt20) March 11, 2018
    The no ball proved costly for the Mickey Arthur-coached Kings, who could have gone top of the PSL standings with a win over Lahore but now sit third, one win behind the ladder-leading Quetta Gladiators.

    The Qalandars are on the bottom of the table and are out of contention for the playoffs.

    https://www.cricket.com.au/news/pak...st-ball-mccullum-sangakkara-arthur/2018-03-13
     

Share This Page